Hikers on Hadrian's Wall
A view along Hadrian’s Wall © Historic England
A view along Hadrian’s Wall © Historic England

Historic England and the English Heritage Trust

The official name of Historic England is the Historic Buildings and Monuments Commission for England. It was first established in 1984 and until 1 April 2015 was commonly known as English Heritage.

At that point its common name changed to Historic England and a new charity, officially called the English Heritage Trust, took the name of English Heritage.

English Heritage’s role

English Heritage looks after the National Heritage Collection of more than 400 state-owned historic sites and monuments across England.

It cares for and opens them to the public under a licence from Historic England that runs until 2025.

Historic England will also be the sole member of English Heritage who will appoint trustees to its board.